Brand guide · Duracell Energy

Duracell home battery: who makes it, what it costs and who stands behind the warranty

Duracell home batteries are not made by Duracell. The name is a licence, and a small British company called Puredrive Energy designs, sells and warrants the batteries. That is not a reason to avoid them, but it changes the question a buyer should ask: not whether the brand is trusted, but whether the company behind the 10-year warranty will still be there in year eight. This site is independent of Duracell and Puredrive; the facts below come from Duracell Energy's own site, Companies House and UK retailer product pages, read on 20 October 2026.

Prices and rules checked 20 October 2026

Quick answer

Duracell Energy's own site says the products are "manufactured under license and warranty supported by Puredrive Energy", and that Duracell is a trademark used under licence. Puredrive Energy Ltd (company 10286123, incorporated 19 July 2016) is listed as active at Companies House. Retailers list the Dura5 (5.12 kWh, 4.6 kWh usable) at £1,393.80 including VAT as hardware, and the Dura16 LV (16 kWh, 14.4 kWh usable) at £3,700 including VAT, both with a 10-year warranty. Those are hardware prices: a hybrid inverter (Dura-i, £990 to £1,085 including VAT at one retailer) and installation are extra.

Who is behind the Duracell name

Duracell Energy’s website says two things in small print that matter more than the logo. Duracell is “a registered trademark of Duracell Batteries BV and Duracell U.S. Operations, Inc., used under license”, and the products are “manufactured under license and warranty supported by Puredrive Energy”. A retailer’s FAQ says it more bluntly: Duracell “is not involved in the design, manufacture or distribution of the product”, while Puredrive designs and engineers it in Toddington, Gloucestershire.

So the company you are relying on is Puredrive Energy Ltd, and Companies House is the place to check it. On 20 October 2026 the register showed:

Companies House (read 20 October 2026)Puredrive Energy Ltd
Company number10286123
StatusActive
Incorporated19 July 2016
Business typeManufacture of batteries and accumulators; retail sale via mail order or the internet
Last accountsMade up to 30 June 2024
Next accountsMade up to 31 December 2025, due by 31 December 2026
Confirmation statementLast dated 23 July 2026
InsolvencyNone noted on the page

None of that is a warning. It is an active company with filings up to date, in a business that is hard to enter. It does show what a 10-year warranty rests on: a company founded in 2016, with accounts that run roughly 16 to 18 months behind. The GivEnergy administration is the reminder that a long warranty from a manufacturer is worth what the manufacturer is worth, which is why the section on the warranty below matters more than the capacity figures.

The two batteries and what they hold

Duracell’s own pages give no specifications for the batteries, so the figures below are from two UK retailers’ product pages and are the manufacturer’s claims, not tests.

Dura5Dura16 LV
Capacity5.12 kWh16 kWh
Usable4.6 kWh14.4 kWh
Voltage51.2 V nominal51.2 V nominal
Maximum powerNot stated in kW (100 A continuous, 110 A peak)6.6 kW
ChemistryNot stated on the pageLithium iron phosphate
Rated cyclesNot stated8,000
ProtectionIP65IP65
Weight45 kg122 kg
Warranty10 years10 years, handled by Puredrive Energy
Hardware price£1,161.50 ex VAT, £1,393.80 inc VAT£3,700 inc VAT (£3,083 ex VAT)

Three details are worth a question. The Dura16 LV’s 6.6 kW battery power is higher than the 5 kW of most single-phase home inverters, so the inverter, not the battery, will set what you can run at once. The Dura5 page does not say how fast it discharges in kW. And the Dura16 is a 122 kg unit, so the wall or floor it stands on matters; ask the installer who is responsible for that.

What the hardware price means

Dividing the retailers’ hardware prices by usable capacity puts Duracell next to the Fox ESS EVO 10, which five UK retailers listed at £2,880 to £3,356 before VAT on 7 October 2026 (the cost guide sets out those listings):

Hardware only, before VATUsable kWhPricePer usable kWh
Duracell Dura54.6£1,161.50about £253
Duracell Dura16 LV14.4£3,083about £214
Fox ESS EVO 10 (all-in-one with inverter)about 9.7£2,880 to £3,356about £297 to £346

On this comparison the Dura16 LV is the cheapest hardware per usable kWh, but it is not like for like. The Fox EVO price includes the inverter; the Duracell prices are batteries alone, and a Dura-i hybrid inverter is listed by the same retailer at £990 (3.6 kW), £1,050 (4.6 kW), £995 (5 kW) and £1,085 (6 kW) including VAT. Add a mid-range inverter at about £830 before VAT and the Dura16 comes to about £3,900 for 14.4 kWh, around £270 per usable kWh, still competitive but no longer a clear winner. None of these include the survey, labour, the consumer unit work or the network notification, which is why an installed price is a multiple of the hardware price. The quote comparison checklist shows how to split a quote into those lines.

What a Duracell battery would save

This site’s model, for a London home using 3,000 kWh a year with 4 kWp of solar, using the usable capacities above:

Battery and tariffModelled saving a year
Dura5 (4.6 kWh usable), 4 kWp solar, flat tariff£162
Dura16 (14.4 kWh usable), 4 kWp solar, flat tariff£174
Dura16, 4 kWp solar, Octopus Flux£603
Dura16, no solar, Octopus Go with an electric car£503
Dura5, no solar, Agile Octopus£188

The pattern is the one every battery shows: on a flat tariff with 4 kWp of solar a bigger battery saves almost nothing more, because there is no extra solar to store, and the saving comes from a time-of-use tariff. The Flux figure assumes the battery is accepted by the tariff, which this site could not confirm for Duracell (see the FAQ above). The calculator lets you test your own usage, and the what size battery guide shows where extra capacity stops paying.

The warranty: three questions to ask in writing

A 10-year warranty is the headline claim, and the retailer pages do not say what is in it. Before you sign:

  1. Who pays in year eight? The warranty is Puredrive’s. Ask whether it is insurance-backed, so that it survives if the company stops trading, and ask for the policy wording.
  2. What does it promise? Ask for the years, the capacity it guarantees at the end (usually a percentage of the original) and any cap on total energy throughput, and check the conditions, such as an app connection or an approved installer. The how long solar batteries last guide lists what to compare.
  3. What if the inverter fails? The battery and inverter are separate products with separate warranties unless the installer states otherwise, so ask the length of the Dura-i inverter’s warranty too.

Installing one

Duracell Energy’s site has a page for installers who want to become approved, but it does not publish an installer list, so ask any installer whether they are approved and for the MCS certificate number. A battery added to existing solar usually needs its own inverter and a network notification, which the retrofit guide covers, and an installer should tell you whether your existing inverter is compatible. Put the battery’s usable kWh, the inverter’s kW, the warranty terms and the full price, including VAT treatment, side by side with at least two other written quotes before you pay a deposit. If you would like a reply by email, send a battery storage quotes request. This site does not install batteries and is not affiliated with Duracell or Puredrive.

Questions people ask

Who makes Duracell home batteries?

Puredrive Energy Ltd, a company registered in England and Wales (number 10286123), makes and warrants them under a licence. Duracell Energy's website states that Duracell is a trademark of Duracell Batteries BV and Duracell U.S. Operations, Inc., used under licence, and that the products are manufactured under licence and warranty supported by Puredrive Energy. A retailer's FAQ adds that Puredrive designs and engineers the Dura16 in Toddington, Gloucestershire.

How much is a Duracell home battery?

As hardware, one UK retailer lists the Dura5 (5.12 kWh) at £1,393.80 including VAT and another lists the Dura16 LV (16 kWh) at £3,700 including VAT, on pages read on 20 October 2026. Duracell's own site gives no prices and directs visitors to a quote. An installed system also needs a compatible inverter and installation, so the total is several times the hardware price. Installed batteries carry 0% VAT until 31 March 2027.

Are Duracell home batteries any good?

On paper they are conventional: lithium iron phosphate cells, IP65, a 10-year warranty and rated cycle life of 8,000 cycles on the Dura16 LV, all from the retailers' product pages. This site has found no independent long-term test, and the figures are the manufacturer's. The sensible checks are the same as for any battery: usable kWh, inverter pairing, MCS certification and who answers a warranty claim.

Who honours the warranty on a Duracell battery?

Puredrive Energy, not Duracell. A retailer's product page says the warranty is handled directly by Puredrive Energy in the UK, and Duracell Energy's site says the products are warranty supported by Puredrive. The 10-year length is only as good as the company behind it, so ask for the warranty terms in writing and ask whether the warranty is backed by insurance if the company stops trading.

Does a Duracell battery work with any inverter?

It is designed to pair with Duracell's own Dura-i hybrid inverters (3.6 to 6 kW). A retailer's page says it may work with third-party hybrid inverters that talk to a 48 V battery over CAN or RS485, but that depends on the battery management protocol, and the one example it gives is a Solis inverter in some configurations. Confirm compatibility with the installer before you buy, particularly when adding a battery to existing solar.

Can I use a Duracell battery on Octopus Flux?

This site could not confirm it. Octopus lists the battery brands it accepts for Intelligent Octopus Flux, and standard Flux asks for an MCS certificate, a smart meter and an export meter number. Duracell's pages do not state MCS certification, so ask your installer for the MCS certificate number and ask your supplier in writing whether the model is accepted before you rely on a time-of-use tariff to pay the battery back.

Read next

Ask for quotes to compare

Four short steps. Nothing is shared until you press send, and every question except your name, email and postcode is optional.

What are you looking for?
About your home
Anything else in the picture? (optional)
Where is the home?
Where should quotes go?
  • What happens next: we reply by email. This site is not an installer and does not visit your home.
  • When you get any written quote, check that it is itemised. Ask for the usable capacity in kWh, the inverter size in kW and the warranty terms in writing.
  • Put the price into the quote checker before you sign anything. There is no obligation at any point.
Check a quote Get quotes